The Pan African Postal Union (PAPU), a specialized agency of the African Union (AU) was established on 18th January, 1980, following the decision of the Plenipotentiary Conference of 35 OAU member countries during a meeting held on 8th to 18th January, 1980, in Arusha, the United Republic of Tanzania. With its Headquarters in Arusha, PAPU whose membership consisted of only 35 countries when it was created currently has 45 Member States. The main objective of forming the Union is to coordinate all activities aimed at developing postal services on the African continent.