Sifundo Chief Moyo is PAPU Secretary General Elect

Mr. Sifundo Chief Moyo, a Zimbabwean national, is the new Secretary General of the Pan African Postal Union (PAPU). He was elected by acclamation during the 10th Ordinary Session of the Union’s Plenipotentiary Conference held from 24th to 25th June 2021.

Prior to his election, Mr. Moyo was Postmaster General of Zimbabwe Posts Ltd, otherwise known as Zimpost. He will be assisted in this role by Ms. Jessica Hope Uwera Sengooba of Uganda, who triumphed against candidates from Niger and Burkina Faso.

In his maiden message, Mr. Moyo remarked that: “I am sincerely grateful for the recognition from the Postal Sector for this leadership role. What is happening this time to me is a Big Blessing from God. It is a special moment in my life, a momentous occasion for my family, friends and work colleagues, a moment of national pride for my country Zimbabwe, a historic occasion for SADC and Africa. Yes, it is a fulfilment of many dreams, for many people, and I hope it will serve as a foundation for many dreams and aspirations for the youths in Africa.

He pledged to the postal community that: “I will diligently and whole-heartedly execute my functions and duties. I will support all countries and all regions equally, but with more emphasis and focus on those that are lagging behind, needing to reach higher levels of achievement and viability.”

Jessica Hope Uwera Sengooba, PAPU Assistant Secretary General

He proceeded to add that: “In my reign, strategic partnerships will be sought for in order to enrich capacity and enhance the viability of the Continental Union. I want to see more activity between PAPU and the Postal mother body the Universal Postal Union, subregional bodies in Africa, and many more bodies with whom we will explore areas of mutual interest. Thus, the digitalization drive for the postal sector, across the continent must be seen to increase in both magnitude and quality of service delivered. This will aid the sector to adjust to the new normal.”

The newly-elected officials, who will assume duty on 1st September 2021, will be taking over from the outgoing Secretary General and Assistant Secretary General, Messrs. Younouss Djibrine and Kolawole Aduloju respectively, who have completed their two statutory terms.

Leave a Reply